Show Information
SINFONIA CYMRU with Gabor Takacs-Nagy and Jess Gillam
Saturday 18 March, 7pm

Tickets: £17, Reductions £13, Under 27s £6, Friends of Sinfonia £15

Conductor Gábor Takács-Nagy
Saxophone Jess Gillam (BBC Young Musician of the Year 2016 Finalist)

Prokofiev Classical Symphony in D (No.1) Op. 25
Nyman Where the Bee Dances
Mozart Symphony No. 39 in E-flat Major K. 543

Joined by celebrated conductor Gábor Takács-Nagy and captivating young soloist Jess Gillam, leading chamber orchestra Sinfonia Cymru presents music by Mozart, Prokofiev and Nyman.

This uplifting programme will showcase the soaring majesty of Mozart, Prokofiev’s distinctive melodies and the upbeat exuberance of Nyman’s Where The Bee Dances.

Bydd yr arweinydd enwog Gábor Takács-Nagy a’r unawdwr ifanc cyfareddol Jess Gillam yn ymuno â’r gerddorfa siambr flaenllaw Sinfonia Cymru i gyflwyno cerddoriaeth gan Mozart, Prokofiev a Nyman. Bydd y rhaglen ddyrchafol hon yn arddangos mawredd di-ben-draw Mozart, melodïau unigryw Prokofiev a gorfoledd calonnog Where The Bee Dances gan Nyman.

It’s a classic mix of youth and experience on stage, as exceptional teenage soloist Jess Gillam and the brilliant young professional musicians of Sinfonia Cymru will be under the baton of world-renowned conductor Gábor Takács-Nagy. 
Musical Director of Manchester Camerata, Professor of String Quartet at Haute Ecole de Musique in Geneva, and International Chair in Chamber Music at the Royal Northern College of Music, Gábor Takács-Nagy is a hugely acclaimed conductor and teacher. 

As finalist on BBC’s Young Musician of the Year 2016, Jess Gillam wowed the audience with her entrancing performance of Nyman’s Where The Bee Dances. Jess joins the orchestra to reprise this piece. 

Sinfonia Cymru is thrilled to be joined by two such outstanding musical talents.

Quick Buy