Classical Music

5 shows found

Tickets £6.50

Wednesday 3 November at 1pm and Wednesday 15 December at 1pm,

Performing in our November Lunchtime Concert is Live Music Now’s Boardman Ferla Duo. The duo which comprised of Giordano Ferla and Nicole Boardman will give a performance of piano and Mezzo-Soprano vocals.

Born in Rome, Italy, Giordano began playing piano at an early age. He gained a place at the ‘S.Cecilia’ Conservatoire in Rome at the age of 11 and graduated with honours from the ‘A. Casella’ conservatoire in l’Aquila. He later graduated from the Royal College of Music in London and completed his postgraduate studies at the Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama. He has performed as a soloist, chamber musician and accompanist in Italy, the UK, Isle of Man and Romania and has performed L. v Beethoven’s concerto no. 3 in Cminor for piano and Orchestra in St. Barnabas church, London and F. Chopinconcerto no.1 in E minor with the RepCo Symphony Orchestra under Tianyi Lu.

Nicole Boardman is a twenty-five-year-old Mezzo Soprano. Originally from Liverpool, she is currently in her first year of Masters in Vocal studies withLorna Anderson, at the Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama in Cardiff. Nicole’s previous performances include the Alto in Brahms’s Liebeslieder Quartet for the Cardiff Singer of the world Lunchtime event in the Dora Stoutzker Hall 2017, Soloist for Rachel Podger’s Brecon Baroque Festival 2017. She has also sung the Alto soloist for Mozart’s Requiem and Alto soloist for Vivaldi’s Gloria, both under the Conductor, Adrian Partington.


03/11/2021 to 15/12/2021

Tickets - £19.50, concessions - £17.50, under 30s - £13.25, children and students - £4

Thursday 18 November at 7.30pm

Telemann Viola Concerto in G major

Schubertarr.Tabakova Arpeggione Sonata

Biber Battalia

Mozart Adagio and Fugue, K. 546

JS Bach Concerto for Viola, Strings and Basso continuo in E-flat major, reconstructed Wilfred Fischer

Tabakova Such Different Paths

After an absence of almost two years, the inspiring musicians of under 30s orchestra,Sinfonia Cymru, can’t wait to play for you again. We hope you’ll join them for an exhilarating evening with guest soloist / director, Timothy Ridout, the British violist and current BBC Radio 3 New Generation Artist.

Timothy is an exceptional talent and, not surprisingly, is in high demand as both a soloist and chamber musician. For this tour, he has devised a varied programme that truly showcases the viola, featuring great music by Telemann, Mozart and Schubert and a concerto inspired by JC Bach. This player-led programme is sure to be an exhilarating evening – perfect for a return to concert-going.

You may have seen Timothy in his last performances with Sinfonia Cymru, in 2018, when he played Mozart’s Sinfonia Concertante alongside Benjamin Baker for the orchestra’s debut BBC Radio 3 broadcast. Audiences were in awe of the wonderful musicality and virtuosity of the duo and orchestra and this concert promises to repeat that experience.

18/11/2021 19:30

Tickets - £6.50

Wednesday 6 October at 1pm

Oboe Quartet 
Mozart Adagio in C

Francaix Cor Anglais Quartet

Martinu String Trio No. 2

Mozart Oboe Quartet


Wednesday 1 December at 1pm

Wind Quartet (Fl/Cl/Bsn/Hn)

Rossini Andante e tema con variazioni

Mendelssohn Children’s Pieces

Koechlin Trio

Gambaro Quartet in F

Lunchtime concerts

Our lunchtime concerts at the Riverfront, Newport are back! When we programme these concerts, rather than using established groups, the ensembles are put together from scratch, so they don’t come ready rehearsed. The players have to use the intensive rehearsal process to navigate their way through the stylistic and musical decisions as a collective – a valuable skill for young musicians to develop. For the audience, it means the concerts are completely fresh.


Cyngherddau Dros Ginio


Mae ein cyngherddau dros ginio yng Nglan yr Afon, Casnewydd yn ail ddechrau! Wrth raglenni'r cyngherddau, ni fyddwn yn defnyddio grwpiau sydd wedi'i sefydlu eisioes, bydd yr ensemble yn cael ei greu o'r newydd, heb unrhyw ymarfer o flaen llaw. Bydd y cerddorion yn defnyddio'r cyfnod ymarfer dwys, i liwio'r penderfyniadau a'rdehongliad cerddorol ar y cyd - sgil gwethfawr tu hwnt i helpu'r cerddorion ifanc i ddatblygu. I'r gynulleidfa, mae'n golygu cyngerdd newydd sbon.

01/12/2021 13:00

Tickets - £20, concessions - £17

Friday 14 January at 7pm

WNO Orchestra is delighted to be back on stage, presenting its sparklingly successful, and well-travelled, new year’s concert. Under the direction of Leader and Concertmaster David Adams, the Orchestra, joined by WNO Associate Artists, will welcome in 2022 at The Riverfront with a rousing programme of waltzes, polkas and maybe even a few surprises. Join us for this toe-tapping evening of Strauss, Lehár and so much more - what better way to kick off the new year?


Concertmaster – David Adams,
Soprano – Isabelle Peters,
Tenor – Adam Gilbert


Cerddorfa WNO - Dychwelyd i Fienna

Mae Cerddorfa WNO yn falch iawn o fod yn ôl ar y llwyfan, gan gyflwyno ei chyngerdd blwyddyn newydd hynod o lwyddiannus, sydd wedi teithio’n helaeth. O danarweiniad y Blaenwr a'r Cyngerddfeistr David Adams, bydd y Gerddorfa, ynghyd ag Artistiaid Cyswllt WNO, yn croesawu 2022 a Glan yr Afon gyda rhaglen gyffrous o walsiau, polcas ac efallai hyd yn oed ambell syrpreis. Ymunwch â ni ar gyfer ynoson fywiog hon o Strauss, Lehár a chymaint mwy – pa ffordd well i gych wyn yflwyddyn newydd?


Cyngerddfeistr – David Adams,
Soprano – Isabelle Peters,

Tenor – Adam Gilbert

14/01/2022 19:00
TALES FROM A FRENCH TRUMPET Featuring Lucienne Renaudin Vary

Tickets - £19.50, concessions - £17.50, under 30s - £13.25, children and students - £4

Thursday 3 February at 7.30pm

Sinfonia Cymru are joined by French ‘trumpet sensation’ Lucienne Ranaudin Vary in a concert, where orchestral virtuosity meets the jazz influenced streets of France. Twenty-Two-year-old Lucienne leads Sinfonia Cymru with a vivacious programme encompassing both classical and jazz inspired music, from Hummel’s Trumpet Concerto to Weill’s Je ne t’aime pas. Performing popular pieces by Milhaud and Ravel prepare to be transported to the bustling streets of France.


Wagner Siegfried Idyl

Hummel Trumpet Concerto in E flat.

Ravel Le Tombeaude Couperin

Ravel Pavane pourune infante défunte

Milhaud Le Boeufsur le toit

Lowry Shall We Gather at the River

Weill Je net'aime pas

Bechet Si tu voisma mere

03/02/2022 19:30